What health conditions qualify for an Arizona Medical Marijuana card?

  • Severe and Chronic Pain
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • AIDS / HIV
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
  • Crohn's Disease
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
  • Severe Nausea
  • Seizures
  • Severe and Persistent Muscle Spasms
  • PTSD

What documents do I need to bring to my appointment?

  • Medical Record: State law requires that a physician, other than the certifying doctor, has evaluated you for your qualifying condition within the last 12 months. If you have seen a physician about your condition with the last year, please complete our medical record release form and we will obtain the records for you. If you do not have a physician to refer us to, you can visit with our in-house chiropractor for an evaluation and documentation on the same day as your appointment with us.
  • Arizona Driver's License or state issued ID card
  • Payment

Will my insurance cover my fees with you?

No. Insurance companies do not cover the certification process at the current time.

What forms of payment do you take?

We accept Cash as well as Credit and Debit cards. We charge a $5 processing fee for credit/debit payments.

How long does the certification appointment take at your office?

Each patient is unique, so each appointment is a little different. But expect to spend between 45 - 75 minutes at our office between paperwork and your visit with the physician.

What is Proposition 203 or the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act?

In November of 2010, voters passed the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act under Proposition 203. It called for the Arizona Department of Health Services to create a medical marijuana program within 120 days from the election results. To read the full statutes govering the Arizona Medical Marijuana Program, visit the Arizona Department of Health Services websitefor very helpful information.

Who can look up my name and discover if I have a medical marijuana card?

>No one. Arizona supports a database that can only look up 20 digit patient ID numbers. Law enforcement and employeers cannot type in your name and find out if you have a card.

What protections will a qualified patient with a registration identification card have?

According to Section 36-2813:
  • No school or landlord may refuse to enroll or lease to and may not otherwise penalize a person solely for his status as a cardholder, unless failing to do so would cause the school or landlord to lose a monetary or licensing related benefit under federal law or regulations."
  • Unless a failure to do so would cause an employer to lose a monetary or licensing related benefit under federal law or regulations, an employer may not discriminate against a person in hiring, termination or imposing any term or condition of employment or otherwise penalize a person based upon either:
  1. The person's status as a cardholder.
  2. A registered qualifying patient's positive drug test for marijuana components or metabolites, unless the patient used, possessed or was impaired by marijuana on the premises of the place of employment or during the hours of employment.
  3. No person may be denied custody of or visitation or parenting time with a minor, and there is no presumption of neglect or child endangerment for conduct allowed under this chapter, unless the person's behavior creates an unreasonable danger to the safety of the minor as established by clear and convincing evidence.

How much do you charge?

We charge $125 for your evaluation with one of our physicians. Our pain specialist charges $50 for patients that need medical documentation. We take care of everything for you, including proper documentation upload to the state. Just remember that the state has their own fee that is due at the time of upload.

How do I prove I qualify for the SNAP fee rate?

Qualifying patients particpating in the SNAP program will need to provide a copy of an eligibility notice or electronic benefits transfer card that demonostrates their enrolled status.

Who can write a medical certification for a patient?

Only MD (allopathic), DO (osteopathic), MDH or DOH (homeopathic) or ND (naturopathic) physicians with a valid Arizona license may certify patients. All of our doctors meet these standards and are in good standing with their medical boards.

How long will it take for me to receive my registry identification card after my application is submitted to the State?

The Arizona Department of Health Services will issue your registry identification card within 10 working days after applications have been submitted.

When will I have to renew my card?

The registry indentification card will expire one year after the date it was issued. You must apply for your renewal before the expiration date. We will contact you via email prior to your expiration to remind you to return to our office for a renewal certification. The State will also email you 2 months before your expiration date as an additional reminder.

What happens if I lose my card?

You will need to contact the Arizona Department of Health Services and apply for a replacement card through their website. The cost of the card is $10 and will have the same expiration date as your original card.

My work routinely tests for drugs including marijuana. If I have a registration card, am I protected?

  • According to the Arizona Department of Health Services, "The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act states that an employer will not be able to penalize a qualifying patient with a registry identification card for a positive drug test for marijuana, unless the patient used, possessed, or was impaired by marijuana on the employment premises or during hours of employment. If you are unsure how the Act applies to you, consult an attorney licensed to practice law in Arizona." (http://www.azdhs.gov/medicalmarijuana/faqs/index.php?pg=qualifying-patients, Sept. 29, 2013)

Do you provide marijuana once I'm a qualified card holder?

  • No, we are just the doctors that evaluate your condition for certification of the card. Once you are approved as a qualifying patient, you can obtain medical marijuana from a dispensary, a qualfying designated caregiver, another qualfying patient, or, if you authorized to cultivate, from home cultivation. When you are issued a card, the Arizona Department of Health will send you an approval email and will provide a list of all operating dispensaries you can use.

If I have a past conviction for possession or use of marijuana, can I still get a qualifying patient registry identification card?

  • Yes, if you have a written certification from an Arizona physician, you can obtain a registry identificion card.

Can I hold a medical marijuana card for more than one state?

  • Yes. You must prove Arizona residency by providing a Arizona driver's license, an Arizona identification card, an Arizona registry identification card, or a photograph page from your passport. Additionally, your physican certification form must be completed by an Arizona licensed physician. If you meet those guidelines, you can hold an Arizona medical marijuana card as well as from another state.

How much do I have to pay the State for my card?

  • Arizona requires $150 fee for an initial or a renewal registery identification card for a qualifying patient. Patients in SNAP are eligible for a discount and are required to pay only $75. On the day of your visit with us, we will collect our evaluation fee, and if you qualify, the state fee for processing.

What if I need to change my address or name on my registration card?

  • Visit the ADHS Medical Marijuana Program website. Enter your card number and name and you will be able to update your information.

Do you have a question that we did not answer?

Call us at 623-847-6652 and we will happily address your concerns!